1. 1

    श्रीशुक उवाच अत्र सर्गो विसर्गश्च स्थानं पोषणमूतयः । मन्वन्तरेशानुकथा निरोधो मुक्तिराश्रयः ।। २-१०-१ ।।

    Śrī Śukadeva Gosvāmī said: In the Śrīmad-Bhāgavatam there are ten divisions of statements regarding the following: the creation of the universe, subcreation, planetary systems, protection by the Lord, the creative impetus, the change of Manus, the science of God, returning home, back to Godhead, liberation, and the summum bonum. ।। 2-10-1 ।।

  2. 2

    दशमस्य विशुद्ध्यर्थं नवानामिह लक्षणम् । वर्णयन्ति महात्मानः श्रुतेनार्थेन चाञ्जसा ।। २-१०-२ ।।

    To isolate the transcendence of the summum bonum, the symptoms of the rest are described sometimes by Vedic inference, sometimes by direct explanation, and sometimes by summary explanations given by the great sages. ।। 2-10-2 ।।

  3. 3

    भूतमात्रेन्द्रियधियां जन्म सर्ग उदाहृतः । ब्रह्मणो गुणवैषम्याद्विसर्गः पौरुषः स्मृतः ।। २-१०-३ ।।

    The elementary creation of sixteen items of matter — namely the five elements [fire, water, land, air and sky], sound, form, taste, smell, touch, and the eyes, ears, nose, tongue, skin and mind — is known as sarga, whereas subsequent resultant interaction of the modes of material nature is called visarga. ।। 2-10-3 ।।

  4. 4

    स्थितिर्वैकुण्ठविजयः पोषणं तदनुग्रहः । मन्वन्तराणि सद्धर्म ऊतयः कर्मवासनाः ।। २-१०-४ ।।

    The right situation for the living entities is to obey the laws of the Lord and thus be in perfect peace of mind under the protection of the Supreme Personality of Godhead. The Manus and their laws are meant to give right direction in life. The impetus for activity is the desire for fruitive work. ।। 2-10-4 ।।

  5. 5

    अवतारानुचरितं हरेश्चास्यानुवर्तिनाम् । सतामीशकथाः प्रोक्ता नानाऽऽख्यानोपबृंहिताः ।। २-१०-५ ।।

    The science of God describes the incarnations of the Personality of Godhead and His different activities together with the activities of His great devotees. ।। 2-10-5 ।।