1. 21

    यदि तु प्रायशोऽधर्मं सेवते धर्ममल्पशः । तैर्भूतैः स परित्यक्तो यामीः प्राप्नोति यातनाः ॥ २१ ॥

    But if it chiefly cleaves to vice and to virtue in a small degree, it suffers, deserted by the elements, the torments inflicted by Yama.

  2. 22

    यामीस्ता यातनाः प्राप्य स जीवो वीतकल्मषः । तान्येव पञ्च भूतानि पुनरप्येति भागशः ॥ २२ ॥

    The individual soul, having endured those torments of Yama, again enters, free from taint, those very five elements, each in due proportion.

  3. 23

    एता दृष्ट्वाऽस्य जीवस्य गतीः स्वेनैव चेतसा । धर्मतोऽधर्मतश्चैव धर्मे दध्यात् सदा मनः ॥ २३ ॥

    Let (man), having recognised even by means of his intellect these transitions of the individual soul (which depend) on merit and demerit, always fix his heart on (the acquisition of) merit.

  4. 24

    सत्त्वं रजस्तमश्चैव त्रीन् विद्यादात्मनो गुणान् । यैर्व्याप्यैमान् स्थितो भावान् महान् सर्वानशेषतः ॥ २४ ॥

    Know Goodness (sattva), Activity (ragas), and Darkness (tamas) to be the three qualities of the Self, with which the Great One always completely pervades all existences.

  5. 25

    यो यदेषां गुणो देहे साकल्येनातिरिच्यते । स तदा तद्गुणप्रायं तं करोति शरीरिणम् ॥ २५ ॥

    When one of these qualities wholly predominates in a body, then it makes the embodied (soul) eminently distinguished for that quality.